2023 Grand National Tips & Preview From Robbie Power

In this post you can find 2023 Grand National tips from 2007 Aintree Grand National winning jockey and BoyleSports ambassador Robbie Power!

2023 Grand National Race Details

When is the 2023 Grand National?

The 2023 Grand National is scheduled for a 5.15pm start time on Saturday the 15th of April 2023.

Where is the 2023 Grand National?

The 2023 Grand National will take place at Aintree Racecourse in Merseyside, England as it does every year.

Who won last year’s Grand National?

The defending Grand National champion is Noble Yeats who returned at 50/1 and beat Any Second Now by 2 and a 1/4 lengths at the 2022 Grand National.

Noble Yeats has been installed as second favourite ahead of the 2023 Grand National and can be currently backed at 8/1 to make it two in a row over Aintree’s famous fences.

Robbie Power’s 2023 Grand National Tips

Cheltenham Form Could Be Crucial At Aintree

The BoyleSports Irish Grand National has been a good form guide in the past and Gaillard Du Mesnil (12/1 with BoyleSports) was just beaten in it last year – he has to have a big chance. But I think the Cross Country race at Cheltenham could also have a huge bearing on the result.

Delta Work (8/1) and Galvin (20/1) were first and second, there wasn’t much to separate them and I don’t think there will be a lot between them at Aintree either. Delta Work was third last year and has the experience, so maybe I’d just sway with him if the ground goes on the soft side. If it keeps drying, I’d have a slight preference for Galvin.

Jessica Harrington Horse Has Chance At 2023 Grand National

Jessica Harrington’s Lifetime Ambition (25/1) also has a massive chance in the race. He had a run in the BoyleSports Becher Chase on his seasonal debut, finishing fourth. He jumped like a buck and ticks a lot of boxes for a race like the Grand National – he’s a strong traveller and a good jumper.

I remember when I got off him at Punchestown last season, I said to Jessica this could be the horse for the Grand National at Aintree and I hope I’m right for her sake. She’s won them all but a Grand National.

Lively Outsider Could Outrun Odds

Henry de Bromhead’s runner Ain’t That A Shame (20/1) was just beaten in the Munster National at Limerick and was only beaten a length at Leopardstown at Christmas. He has to have a big chance off the same mark he has in Ireland, he could be a big player.

One I like at a big price is Gabbys Cross (50/1), who has been running well in competitive handicaps for Henry de Bromhead. He’s not the most reliable jumper in the world, but sometimes these fences can just switch a horse on. If he got into a rhythm, I wouldn’t mind having my €2 each-way on him.

For a breakdown of the chances of all the favourites in Saturday’s showpiece race check out our 2023 Grand National Favourites post.

Click Below For All Our 2023 Grand National Odds

2023 Grand National Odds

2023 Grand National Runners and Riders

No. 1 – Any Second Now, Trainer – Ted Walsh, Jockey – Mark Walsh

No.2 – Noble Yeats, Trainer – Emmet Mullins, Jockey – Sean Bowen

No.3 – Galvin, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Davy Russell

No.4 – Fury Road, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Jonjo O’Neill Jr

No. 5 – The Big Dog, Trainer – Peter Fahey, Jockey – Aidan Coleman

No. 6 – Capodanno, Trainer – Willie Mullins, Jockey – Danny Mullins

No. 7 – Delta Work, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Keith Donoghue

No. 8 – Sam Brown, Trainer – Anthony Honeyball, Jockey – Johnny Burke

No. 9 – Lifetime Ambition, Trainer – Jessica Harrington, Jockey – Sean O’Keefe

No.10 – Carefully Selected, Trainer – Willie Mullins, Jockey – Michael O’Sullivan

No.11 – Coko Beach, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Harry Cobden

No. 12 – Longhouse Poet, Trainer – Martin Brassil, Jockey – JJ Slevin

No. 13 – Gaillard Du Mesnil, Trainer – Willie Mullins, Jockey – Paul Townend

No. 14 – Darasso, Trainer – Joseph Patrick O’Brien, Jockey – Gaillard Du Mesnil

No. 15 – Le Milos, Trainer – Dan Skelton, Jockey – Harry Skelton

No. 16 – Escaria Ten, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Adrian Heskin

No. 17 – The Big Breakaway, Trainer – Joe Tizzard, Jockey – Brendan Powell

No. 18 – Cape Gentleman, Trainer – John Joseph Hanlon, Jockey – Jody McGarvey

No. 19 – Roi Mage, Trainer – Patrick Griffin, Jockey – Felix de Giles

No. 20 – Diol Ker, Trainer – Noel Meade, Jockey – Kieren Buckley

No. 21 – A Wave Of The Sea, Trainer – Joseph Patrick O’Brien, Jockey – Shane Fitzgerald

No. 22 – Minella Trump, Trainer – Donald McCain, Jockey – Theo Gillard

No. 23 – Vanillier, Trainer – Gavin Cromwell, Jockey – Sean Flanagan

No. 24 – Velvet Elvis, Trainer – Thomas Gibney, Jockey – Darragh O’Keefe

No. 25 – Ain’t That A Shame, Trainer – Henry de Bromhead, Jockey – Rachael Blackmore

No. 26 – Corach Rambler, Trainer – Lucinda Russell, Jockey – Derek Fox

No. 27 – Enjoy D’allen, Trainer – Ciaran Murphy, Jockey – Simon Torrens

No. 28 – Mr Incredible, Trainer – Willie Mullins, Jockey – Brian Hayes

No. 29 – Mister Coffey, Trainer – Nicky Henderson, Jockey – Nico de Boinville

No. 30 – Cloudy Glen, Trainer – Venetia Williams, Jockey – Charlie Deutsch

No. 31 – Hill Sixteen, Trainer – Sandy Thomson, Jockey – Ryan Mania

No. 32 – Gabbys Cross, Trainer – Henry de Bromhead, Jockey – Peter Carberry

No. 33 – Recite A Prayer, Trainer – Willie Mullins, Jockey – Jack Foley

No. 34 – Eva’s Oskar, Trainer – Tim Vaughan, Jockey – Alan Johns

No. 35 – Our Power, Trainer – Sam Thomas, Jockey – Sam Twiston-Davies

No. 36 – Dunboyne, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Jack Tudor

No. 37 – Francky Du Berlais, Trainer – Peter Bowen, Jockey – Ben Jones

No. 38 – Fortescue, Trainer – Henry Daly, Jockey – Hugh Nugent

No. 39 – Back On The Lash, Trainer – Martin Keighley, Jockey – Adam Wedge

No. 40 – Defi Bleu, Trainer – Gordon Elliott, Jockey – Philip Enright

*Prices subject to fluctuation

Remember, always gamble responsibly. Here’s our Safer Gambling Guide.