Hurler of The Year Odds 2023 – Gillane Leads The Way

Check out the latest Hurler of the Year odds for 2023 as intercounty hurlers up and down the country compete for this prestigious award.

What Is The Hurler of the Year Award?

The GAA–GPA All-Star Hurler of the Year is a hurling award presented to the player voted as best in the country by all the players from around Ireland. Created in 1995, the award is part of the All-Stars Awards and is voted by a group of journalists from television and the print media.

Kilkenny players have won the award 10 out of 28 times, ahead of Limerick with four wins. Tipperary, Cork, Waterford and Clare have won it three times each. Clare’s Tony Kelly is the youngest ever winner of the award when he won at the age of 19 in 2013.

Henry Shefflin and Cian Lynch are the only players to have won the award more than once with Shefflin winning it in 2002, 2006 and 2012 and Cian Lynch in 2018 and 2021. Shefflin became the oldest-ever winner of the award when he won it in 2012 at the age of 33.

2023 Hurler of The Year Betting Favourites

Aaron Gillane – Limerick 1/2

Gillane plays as a right corner-forward for club side Patrickswell and at inter-county level with the Limerick senior hurling team. He was in his final season with the Limerick U21s when he got drafted onto the senior panel by John Kiely in advance of the 2017 Munster League.

He made his only appearance in that pre-season on 8 January 2017 when he came on as a 54th-minute substitute for full-forward Seán Tobin in a first-round defeat of Waterford. Gillane has since played 60 games and scored a staggering 22-425

This season he has a total of 3-42 and has been Limerick’s main man.

Eoin Cody – Kilkenny 9/2

The Kilkenny forward has been excellent throughout 2023 and if Kilkenny are to shock Limerick he has a massive role to play. By extension if he does play that role that and his 4-21 total he could become a worthy favourite for Hurler of the Year

Darragh O’Donovan – Limerick 8/1

Darragh O’Donovan announced himself as a Hurler of the Year candidate with his Man of the Match display in the All-Ireland Semi-Final with 2 Shots, 1 Point, 1  Turnover Won, 1 Wide, 1 Own Puckout Won and 13 possessions in an inspirational performance from midfield.

TJ Reid – 14/1

The main man is still one of Kilkenny’s key players at 35 years and 185 days, if starts against Dublin on Saturday he will be the oldest player to start a championship game for Kilkenny since Noel Skehan (39 years, 194 days) and Frank Cummins (36 years, 221 days) v Wexford in 1984.

But he is still absolutely flying on the field, in the Group Stages he has already hit 0-9 against Westmeath, 0-9 against Galway and a staggering 2-10 against Westmeath.  TJ is the second-highest scorer in the Championship this season and his 2-66 total means 6 points or more in the final will mean he finishes top-scorer

If Kilkenny win pull off an upset against Limerick 14/1 is a great price

Kyle Hayes- 16/1

Kyle Hayes plays for Limerick Senior Championship club Kildimo-Pallaskenry and at inter-county level with the Limerick senior hurling team usually lining out as a left wing-back.

He was just 18 when he was drafted into the senior panel by John Kiely for the 2017 Munster League making his first appearance in pre-season on 8 January coming on as a sub for right corner-back Seánie O’Brien in a first-round defeat of Waterford.

Hayes received his first competitive start on 22 January 2017 when he lined out at right wing-forward in a 24-point fourth-round win over Kerry. He’s already won Young Hurler of the Year in 2018 and a big performance in the final will put him in contention for the biggest individual prize of all.

Barry Nash – Limerick 16/1

The former forward turned Left corner-back comes from a famous hurling family with his father Mike and Uncle Declan both having hurled for Limerick in the full-back line along with that his cousin Anthony Nash played in goal for Cork.

Barry is a talented player of his own right though and was Runner-Up for the award last season in 2022. A player with tremendous athleticism who brings his play-making qualities to the Limerick backline, it should be another big year for Barry.

Barry has been excellent for Limerick throughout 2023 and had it not been for his sending off against Tipperary in the Munser Senior Hurling Championship, he would be priced a lot shorter.

Gearoid Hegarty – Limerick 50/1

The Limerick hurler and former Hurler of the Year is a right-wing forward for club side St Patrick’s and at the inter-county level with the Limerick senior hurling team.

His first appearance for Limerick came with the footballers in a 2-11 to 0-11 defeat of Longford in the National Football League on 9 February 2014. However, after playing in the earlier rounds of the National Football League in 2016 he joined the Limerick senior hurling team.

Hegarty made his first appearance for the Hurlers on 13 March 2016, replacing Seánie O’Brien at half-time in a 6-29 to 1-12 win over Laois. He has since gone on to play 74 games for Limerick Hurling scoring 12-140 and winning Hurler of the Year in 2020.

We recently previewed the 2023 Footballer of the Year odds with a Kerry man leading the way in the odds.

Click Below For All Our Hurler of the Year Odds

Hurler of the Year Odds 2023

Hurler of the Year Winners List

2022 | Diarmaid Byrnes – Limerick

2021 | Cian Lynch (2) – Limerick

2020 | Gearoid Hegarty – Dublin

2019 | Séamus Callanan – Tipperary

2018 | Cian Lynch – Limerick

2017 | Joe Canning – Galway

2016 | Austin Gleeson – Waterford

2015 | T.J.  Reid – Kilkenny

2014 | Richie Hogan – Kilkenny

2013 | Tony Kelly- Clare

2012 | Henry Shefflin (3)- Kilkenny

2011 | Michael Fennelly – Kilkenny

2010 | Lar Corbett – Tipperary

2009| Tommy Walsh – Kilkenny

2008 | Eoin Larkin -Kilkenny

2007 | Dan Shanahan – Waterford

2006 | Henry Shefflin (2) – Kilkenny

2005 | Jerry O’Connor – Cork

2004 | Seán Óg O hAilpín – Cork

2003 | J.J. Delaney – Kilkenny

2002 | Henry Shefflin – Kilkenny

2001 | Tommy Dunne – Tipperary

2000 | D.J. Carey – Kilkenny

1999 | Brian Corcoran – Cork

1998 | Tony Browne – Waterford

1997 | Jamesie O’Connor – Clare

1996 | Martin Storey – Wexford

1995 | Brian Lohan – Clare

Hurler of the Year Winners By County
County Wins
Kilkenny 10
Limerick 4
Cork 3
Clare 3
Waterford 3
Tipperary 3
Wexford 1
Galway 1

*Prices subject to fluctuation

Remember, always gamble responsibly. Here’s our Safer Gambling Guide.