Footballs BSI

League Of Ireland Odds: Premier Division Outright Betting Favourites

Check out our League of Ireland odds for the Premier Division title in this post as we take a look at the favourites in the betting market.

The title race is beginning to heat up with the added pressure of European Football and the FAI Cup on most teams currently fighting it out for the 2023 Premier Division title.

League Of Ireland Odds

League of Ireland Premier Division Odds
Team Odds Chance
Shamrock Rovers 1/5 83.3%
Derry City 5/1 16.7%
St Patrick’s Athletic 10/1 9.1%
Bohemians 40/1 2.4%
Shelbourne 200/1 0.5%
Dundalk 300/1 0.3%

Who won the 2022 League Of Ireland Premier Division?

Shamrock Rovers won the 2022 League of Ireland Premier Division. They retained the title on 24 October, 2022 as a result of Derry City drawing 0-0 away to Sligo Rovers to confirm the three-in-a-row and finished the league thirteen points ahead of the closest challengers Derry City.

The 2022 League of Ireland Premier Division was the 38th season of the League of Ireland Premier Division, the top Irish league for association football clubs since its establishment in 1985.

We’re two-thirds of the way into the 2023 Premier Division season, so let’s look at the most likely destinations for this season’s title.

League Of Ireland Premier Division Betting Favourites

Shamrock Rovers

The favourites for this year’s League of Ireland Premier Division are Shamrock Rovers at odds of 1/5. Those odds imply that Rovers have a 83.3% chance of securing what would be their fourth consecutive League of Ireland Premier Division title.

Shamrock Rovers have dominated Irish Football since their 2020 Premier Division victory, winning three titles in a row. This season they’re odds-on at 1/5 for their fourth successive league title.

Rovers started the season slowly by going seven games without a win. After that slow start many predicted this could be the season where Shamrock Rovers finally lose their title. However, a 0-4 victory against Dundalk on the 31st of March reignited their title ambitions.

Now 30 games into the season with six remaining, Shamrock Rovers have a four-point lead at the top of the table. Their late equaliser through a Graham Burke penalty last Friday against Derry City could effectively end up being a title-winning goal.

Derry City

The second favourites for this year’s League of Ireland Premier Division title are Derry City at odds of 5/1. If Derry City were to win the Premier Division title this year it would be their first victory in this competition since 1997.

The reigning FAI Cup Champions were tipped by many as the most likely to mount a challenge against Shamrock Rovers this season, building on their momentum from winning the 2023 FAI Cup in the Aviva comprehensively 4-0 against Shelbourne.

However, inconsistencies on the pitch, particularly at home, have them currently four points adrift of Shamrock Rovers. Derry have the second strongest defence in the division with just twenty-three goals conceded.

Last Friday’s draw against Shamrock Rovers will be a huge blow for the Derry faithful, had they won I’d have almost made them title favourites. But now, with six games remaining and Derry already four-behind, there is no room for error if they’re to stand any chance.

St Patrick’s Athletic

Next up in the League of Ireland Premier Division outright betting is St Patrick’s Athletic at odds of 10/1.

St Pats are an interesting case having recovered from their poor early season form. That form resulted in the sacking of Tim Clancy and the eventual promotion of former Rangers striker Jon Daly as the new Head Coach to put themselves in the title picture.

St Pats have the second best attack in the Division with fifty-one goals in the league. Last time out in the Premier Division Pats lost 2-1 to Shelbourne. Had they won that game they would be only one-point behind Derry in second.

St Patrick’s Athletic are a long-shot for the league but remain my pick for the FAI Cup.

Click Below For All Our League Of Ireland Premier Division Odds

2023 League of Ireland Odds

League of Ireland Premier Division Winners Since 2000

2022 Shamrock Rovers

2021  Shamrock Rovers

2020 Shamrock Rovers

2019 Dundalk

2018 Dundalk

2017 Cork City

2016 Dundalk

2015 Dundalk

2014 Dundalk

2013 St Patrick’s Athletic

2012 Sligo Rovers

2011 Shamrock Rovers

2010 Shamrock Rovers

2009 Bohemians

2008 Bohemians

2007 Drogheda United

2006 Shelbourne

2005 Cork City

2004 Shelbourne

2003 Shelbourne

2002 Bohemians

2001 Shelbourne

2000 Bohemians

Multiple League of Ireland Premier Division Winners (1985-Present)

Dundalk (8) – 1987–88, 1990–91, 1994–95, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019

Shamrock Rovers (8) – 1985–86, 1986–87, 1993–94, 2010, 2011, 2020, 2021, 2022

Shelbourne (6) – 1991–92, 1999–00, 2001–02, 2003, 2004, 2006

St Patrick’s Athletic (5) – 1989–90, 1995–96, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2013

Bohemians (4) – 2000–01, 2002–03, 2008, 2009

Cork City (3) – 1992–93, 2005, 2017

Derry City (2) – 1988–89, 1996–97

*Prices subject to fluctuation

Remember, always gamble responsibly. Here’s our Safer Gambling Guide.