New World Cup Of Darts Format Explained & What It Means

In this post we explain the new World Cup of Darts format as the popular international tournament will look a bit different this year.

World Cup of Darts 2023 Info

Venue: Eissporthalle, Frankfurt, Germany

When? Starts at 6.00 pm, Thursday, 15th of June (Runs until 18th of June)

What Channel? Sky Sports Action

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock commence their defence of their maiden World Cup of Darts title on Thursday a title which they won by defeating Wales 3-1 at last year’s event.

This year the event is being held at Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle in what promises to be a darting spectacle again with Michael Van Gerwen, Michael Smith, Gerwyn Price and many more representing their countries!

New World Cup Of Darts Format

At the World Cup of Dart this year each of the top four ranked nations get a bye into the second-round stage, those nations are as follows:

(1) England – Michael Smith and Rob Cross

(2)  Netherlands –  Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert

(3) Wales – Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton

(4)  Scotland – Peter Wright and Gary Anderson

The remaining 36 countries have been split into 12 groups of three for a round-robin first round – which includes the 12 other seeded nations, the group winner of the three teams will move onto the next round.

The Second-Round draw takes place on Friday evening where England, The Netherlands, Wales and Scotland will find out who they are facing on Saturday with the 12 other group winners place in the draw being completely random!

The format of each individual stage of the event can be seen below:

Group Stage – Best of seven legs

Second Round – Best of 15 legs

Quarter-Finals – Best of 15 legs

Semi-Finals – Best of 15 legs

Final – Best of 19 legs

Prize Fund (Per Team)

Winners – £80,000

Runners-Up – £50,000

Semi-Final Losers – £30,000

Quarter-Final Losers – £20,000

Last 16 Losers – £9,000

Second in Group – £5,000

Third in Group – £4,000

Total – £450,000

Full Group Stage Draw

World Cup of Darts 2023 Favourites

The Welsh pairing of Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton, despite their third-seed status, are favourites to repeat their 2020 success at the event and can be currently gotten at 11/10 to claim victory again.

The first seeds and second favourites to win the event are Michael Smith and Rob Cross for England with Rob Cross coming in for James Wade from last year’s event. England are currently 7/2 to win the event.

The third favourite for the event is the pairing of Michael Van Gerwen representing The Netherlands as MVG comes in for Dirk van Duijvenbode which can only be positive for the chances currently priced at 9/2.

Fourth seeds and fourth favourites is Scotland with the pairing of Peter Wright and Gary Anderson who won the event together in 2019 Wright won it again with John Henderson in 2021 and are priced at 8/1 to land it for Scotland for the third time.

Competing Nations & Pairings

Australia – Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock

Austria – Mensur Suljovic, Rowby-John Rodriguez

Bahrain – Basem Mahmood, Abdulnasser Yusuf

Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts

Canada – Matt Campbell, Jeff Smith

China – Xiaochen Zong, Lihao Wen

Croatia – Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac

Czech Republic – Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek

Denmark – Vladimir Andersen, Benjamin Reus

England – Michael Smith, Rob Cross

Finland – Marko Kantele, Paavo Myller

France – Thibault Tricole, Jacques Labre

Germany – Gabriel Clemens, Martin Schindler

Gibraltar – Craig Galliano, Justin Hewitt

Guyana – Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald

Hong Kong – Man Lok Leung, Lok Yin Lee

Hungary – Patrik Kovács, Levente Sárai

Iceland – Hallgrimur Egilsson, Vitor Charrua

India – Prakash Jiwa, Amit Gilitwala

Italy – Michele Turetta, Massimo Dante

Japan – Jun Matsuda, Tomoya Goto

Latvia – Madars Razma, Dmitriy Zhukov

Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas

Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert

New Zealand – Ben Robb, Warren Parry

Northern Ireland – Brendan Dolan, Daryl Gurney

Philippines – Christian Perez, Lourence Ilagan

Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski, Krzysztof Kciuk

Portugal – Jose de Sousa, Luis Ameixa

Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor, Keane Barry

Scotland – Peter Wright, Gary Anderson

Singapore – Paul Lim, Harith Lim

South Africa – Devon Petersen, Vernon Bouwers

Spain – Jose Justicia, Tony Martinez

Sweden – Dennis Nilsson, Oskar Lukasiak

Switzerland – Stefan Bellmont, Marcel Walpen

Thailand – Attapol Eupakaree, Yong Gaweenuntavong

Ukraine – Vladyslav Omelchenko, Illia Pekaruk

USA – Jules van Dongen, Leonard Gates

Wales – Gerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton

To keep up to date with all the upcoming events in the world of darts check out our 2023 Darts Calendar post.

Click Below For All Our World Cup of Darts Odds

World Cup of Darts Odds 2023

*Prices subject to fluctuation

Remember, always gamble responsibly. Here’s our Safer Gambling Guide.